Fragrant Earth

Whiffs and kitsch. A good olfactory blog.

Early spring scent combinations

Leave a comment

Do you remember when I said I hated the scent of Hyacinth? Well my visit to Michler’s greenhouse in downtown Lexington the other day convinced my nose otherwise. They happened to have a bunch of blooming Hyacinths in the same house as a blooming gardenia, multiple Citrus plants, and some fragrant violets. I think I like Hyacinths now đŸ™‚

The combination was so amazingly sweet and floral, it goes down as my new early spring favorite- before it was Daphne + Osmanthus + blooming Holly. Anyways the mingling of scents is a wonderful things, as long as they mix well I suppose. Still researching wildflowers but the late start to spring hasn’t pushed any up yet so might have to wait on those.

Author: Patrick Mooney

UK graduate (B.S. in Sustainable Ag) and fragrant flower enthusiast. My other interests include good literature, Orthodox theology, and food among other things. Currently living in Lexington KY.

Leave a comment