Fragrant Earth

Whiffs and kitsch. A good olfactory blog.

St. Patrick’s Day

3 Comments

Image
http://ants-and-grasshoppers.blogspot.com.

Image
http://www.zastavki.com.

I’m taking time off my usual post today to talk about the greenest day of the year, also my saint’s day- St. Patrick’s Day. If you aren’t familiar with the history- long story short he converted Ireland to Christianity from Paganism.  Its definitely a day where if you aren’t Irish, you’re really pretending poorly that you are and getting massively intoxicated without cause or reason. But on a light note- let’s talk about Ireland and its beauty. Of all the places in the world I have been, Ireland is still the most beautiful in my mind. I’m not saying this because its my ancestry, but because its the truth, it really is THAT green! I went in May of 2006 with my family and left a piece of my heart there among the crags of the Barren, the stones of Blarney, and the heathers in Kerry. Ireland is reminiscent of my home in Kentucky, so its really not a surprise that leaving Ireland felt like leaving home. The climate, scenery, and people are just as wonderful, if not more so than in Kentucky.

Ireland is not just beautiful, it is quite uniquely fragrant. Its not just the grass, fresh air, or old churches giving the smell either. Its in the rain, the wind, the very earth of Ireland. The Irish spirit is everywhere, and it effects all the senses, even the nose! But all the former do conglomerate to give Ireland a particularly fresh scent. When I visited in Late May, the lilacs were still blooming in Dublin, and the honeysuckles were blooming in Galway. Spring lasts particularly long in Ireland it seems, as the trees were just barely leafed out and the grass was still verdantly green…ok well the grass is always verdantly green there, but still. It was interesting to fly into Dublin, because it looks almost exactly like flying into Bluegrass airport, with the fenced farms and blooming hedges in spring. In Ireland, its the Hawthorne tribe, but in Kentucky its usually bush honeysuckle (noxious weed) and black locust. There is certainly an Irish feeling to my home state- perhaps that is why my Irish ancestors settled there years ago.

In May it seems everything hits your nose in Ireland, as everything is in bloom. Gorses (Ulex sp.) are perfuming the air with their coconut-like fragrance, as are the Hawthorns and blackthorns (Crataegus sp.) with their bittersweet, privet-like fragrance, and the various heathers (Calluna sp. and Erica sp.) with a light resinous sweetness that makes for good honey. Most fragrant were the grasses at the President’s estate in the large Phoenix park outside Dublin. I’m not sure what genus it could nearly be, other than its the same familiar sweetness that hay exudes and that I often smell in large parks and farms in my own home of Kentucky. Perhaps it is a weed that is so fragrant of hay there- like something in the clover tribe. I really cannot be sure, but it was quite comforting.

Regardless, there were multitudes of parks and gardens in Ireland with many fragrant plants- roses, valerian, various herbs, grasses, shrubs and trees. Every part of the island is differently fragranced, as are the cities. My nose gravitates toward the freshness of Kerry and its windswept coasts, but Galway was equally sweet with the honeysuckles and clematis blooming everywhere. I couldn’t even tell you which species they were- as I knew not plants nearly as well as I do now. Perhaps my favorite scent of Ireland was just the air itself. Whether imparted with the scent of turf smoke, (turf=peat, and is the same source of sphagnum moss) a fresh Irish rain shower, the scents of grasses, flowers, or the ocean; it never ceased to be wonderful to the nose. Ireland is certainly my heart’s second home, well perhaps save for the monastery I go to I guess.

You can check out some Irish wildflowers here: http://www.calflora.net/ireland/

Lastly, I present to you an old Irish Blessing:

May love and laughter light your days,
and warm your heart and home.
May good and faithful friends be yours,
wherever you may roam.
May peace and plenty bless your world
with joy that long endures.
May all life’s passing seasons
bring the best to you and yours!

Author: Patrick Mooney

UK graduate (B.S. in Sustainable Ag) and fragrant flower enthusiast. My other interests include good literature, Orthodox theology, and food among other things. Currently living in Lexington KY.

3 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Excuse me, sir, but some of us who are NOT Irish really do celebrate the holiday without getting drunk. It happens to be my favorite of holidays; always has been and I have no good reason for it being so. (All that was sarcastic. I actually share your frustrations with people treating this day with such foolishness.)

    Also, I’m insanely jealous of the fact that you’ve been to Ireland. And pretty much everywhere. I’m just sitting over here being excited because I went to Ohio for the fist time. Once you’re in central Illinois, you never get out. It’s a horrible, corn-filled trap.

    • Well there is no more perfect place to work out your salvation than right where you are. That said Ireland was incredible but mostly because it was homey 🙂
      And you can always untrap yourself by making money and getting out!

Leave a comment